Year 2 Aims

Our aim is to excite children’s imaginations and inspire them to learn. We want to extend their horizons, deepen their understanding and meet their needs, so they can become successful lifelong learners.
We want the children to leave Year 2 as happy, independent learners who are ready to take on the challenge of Year 3.

Year 2 Information

Year 2 Curriculum Letter

Year 2 Topic Web | Spring Term 1 Curriculum Letter

Autumn 2 - Artic Adventures

Spring 1 - Circus

Spring 2 - Africa

Spring 2

Home Learning Timetable - Week 1 W/C 22 February 2021

Date Maths Literacy Other
Monday 22 Febraury 2021 Maths | Maths Answers Literacy | Guided Reading & Grammar Science | PSHE | RE | PBL | Music
Tuesday 23 February 2021 Maths | Maths Answers Literacy | Guided Reading | Guided Reading & Grammar  
Wednesday 24 February 2021 Maths | Maths Answers Literacy | Guided Reading | Guided Reading & Grammar  
Thursday 25 February 2021 Maths | Maths Answers Literacy | Guided Reading  
Friday 26 February 2021 Maths | Maths Answers Literacy | Guided Reading  

Spring 1

Home Learning Timetable - Week 1 W/C 4 January 2021

Home Learning Timetable - Week 2 W/C 11 January 2021

Home Learning Timetable - Week 3 W/C 18 January 2021

Home Learning Timetable - Week 4 W/C 25 January 2021

Home Learning Timetable - Week 5 W/C 1 February 2021

Home Learning Timetable - week 6 W/C 8 February 2021

Date Maths Literacy Other
Monday 8 February 2021 Maths | Maths Lesson Literacy Science | Computing & Music | PSHE | PBL
Tuesday 9 February 2021 Maths | Maths Answers Literacy | Guided Reading and Grammar

 

Wednesday 10 February 2021 Maths | Maths Answers Literacy | Guided Reading and Grammar  
Thursday 11 February 2021 Maths LiteracyGuided Reading and Grammar  
Friday 12 February 2021 Maths LiteracyGuided Reading and Grammar  
Date Maths Literacy Other
Monday 1 Febraury 2021 Maths | Maths Answers | Challenge Answers LiteracyGuided Reading & Grammar | Guided Reading Lesson REMusic | Science | PSHE | PBL
Tuesday 2 February 2021 Maths | Maths Answers Literacy | Gudied Reading & Grammar

Art

Wednesday 3 February 2021 Maths | Maths Answers Literacy | Guided Reading & Grammar  
Thursday 4 February 2021 Maths | Maths Answers LiteracyGuided Reading & Grammar  
Friday 5 February 2021 Maths LiteracyGuided Reading & Grammar  
Date Maths Literacy Other
Monday 18 January 2021 Maths | Answers Literacy | Reading | Grammar PBL | Science | Computing | PSHE | Art
Tuesday 19 January 2021 Maths Literacy | Grammar

 

Wednesday 20 January 2021 Maths Literacy | Grammar  
Thursday 21 January 2021 Maths Grammar Spanish
Friday 22 January 2021 Maths Literacy  
Date Maths Literacy Other
Monday 11 January 2021 Maths Video Literacy Video | Grammar & Guided Reading Science | PSHE | RE | Spanish Week 2
Tuesday 12 January 2021 Maths Video | Maths Answers Literacy Video | Grammar & Guided Reading | Reading

Art

Wednesday 13 January 2021 Maths Video Literacy VideoGrammar & Guided Reading PBL
Thursday 14 January 2021 Maths Video | Maths Answers LiteracyGrammar & Guided Reading  
Friday 15 January 2021 Maths Video LiteracyGrammar & Guided Reading  
Date Maths Literacy Other
5 January 2021 Maths Video Guided Reading and Grammar

PBL | RE | PSHE | Science | Spanish Week 1

Wednesday 6 January 2021 Maths Video | Maths Answers Literacy Video | Guided Reading | Phonics  
Thursday 7 January 2021 Maths Video | Maths Answers Literacy VideoGuided Reading & Grammar | Phonics Ay | Phonics Ph  
Friday 8 January 2021 Maths Video | Maths Answers Literacy VideoGuided Reading & Grammar  

Virtual Learner of the Week – Friday 8th January 2021
Virtual Learner of the Week – Friday 15th January 2021

Reading Champion of the Week - Friday 15th January 2021 Scientist Champion of the Week - Friday 15th January 2021

Virtual Learner of the Week – Friday 22nd January 2021

Reading Champion - Friday 22nd January 2021

In School Learner of the Week - Friday 22nd January 2021

Handwriting Champion of the Week - Friday 22nd January 2021

Virtual Learner of the week Friday 29th January 2021 In School Learner of the week Friday 29th January 2021

Intervention Learner of the week Friday 29th January 2021

Maths Champion of the week Friday 29th January 2021

Reading Champion of the week Friday 29th January 2021 Virtual Learner of the week Friday 5th February
Intervention Learner of the week Friday 5th February PBL Champion of the week Friday 5th February
Reading Champion of the week Friday 5th February 2021 Handwriting  Champion of the week Friday 5th February 2021
Virtual Learner of the week Friday 12th February Intervention Learner of the week Friday 12th February
PBL Champion of the week Friday 12th February PE Champion of the week Friday 12th February 2021
Maths  Champion of the week Friday 12th February 2021    

 

Year 2 Cardiff’s Reading Champion
Abinan - 15 October 2020 Nyalah - 9 October 2020 Mariah - 2 October 2020   

Reading Champions

 

Rayyan Sheikh - 23rd October 2020

Haris - 6th November 2020

Dilianas - 13th November 2020

Isra - 20th  November 2020

Ahnaf - 27th  November 2020

Rayyan I - 11th December 2020

 

Destination Reader
Pen Licence
Ms Raymond has rewarded the first ever Year 2 pen licence! As of next week Rohan will get to use a pen in most of his writing. Hopefully as the year progresses we can get more pen licences in Year 2
 
Music Ukulele
 
PE - Basketball
Polar Region Hook Day
Subtraction Using Dienes Method
Subtraction Column Method
Multiplication Method
Division Sharing Method