Year 1 Aims

Our aim is to excite children’s imaginations and inspire them to learn. We want to extend their horizons, deepen their understanding and meet their needs, so they can become successful lifelong learners. ​

We want the children to leave Year 1 as happy, independent learners who are ready to take on the challenge of Year 2.​

Summer 1

Summer 1 - Week 1 Learning

Celebrating Earth Day! 

We made pledges to look after our precious planet and made bird feeders to help look after the wildlife!

PBL: Down in the Jungle 

Hook Lesson!

Spring Term

PBL exit point: Doctors and Nurses day!

Virtual Learners of the week!

Week 1 

Danut. For working so hard in all areas of his learning and keeping fit with P.E with Joe.  

Week 2 

Eliza for working hard in Maths and Karim for a fantastic poster in Geography. 

Week 3 

Ibrahim has won this award for an amazing poem and Rabia for her hard work and improvements in maths this week. 

Week 4

Adam has worked so har this week on his phonics, reading and handwriting! 

Week 5

Tahia for an amazing video on making a cheese sandwich!

Virtual Star learners:

 

Week 6 

Harshika for showing some amazing work this week and improving in her learning.

Week 7

Aryaan for working really hard in all areas of the curriculum during home learning and producing some lovely work. 

 

Spring 2

 

World Book Day!

 

Congratulations to Issaq who won best dressed in Trinity class! He dressed up as the bear from The Girl, the Bear and the Magic Shoes by Julia Donaldson. 

Wellbeing and PSHE 

Year 1 have been bonding as a class again and enjoying spending time together. In our first week back, we have done lots of activities to look after our mental health and wellbeing. Have a look at our rainbow of friendship and our artwork inspired by the book The Dot and also the artist Kadinsky!

Mad Scientist Day!!

Year 1 had so much fun on Mad Scientist day! We got to dress up as scientists and took part in lots of experiments. We also researched our scientist of the term, Henry Blair, who invented a corn planter and a cotton planter. 

Take a look at some of our experiments! We looked at potatoes and then had a go at potato printing. We also investigated what happens when you add dish washing soap to milk and food colouring and used torches to experiment with shadows. We then went into the playground to see Ms Ahmed do the cola and mentos experiment! It was lots of fun!

Home Learning

LRH Week 5 - 22 March 2021

Lesson  
Monday 1 March 2021 MathsLiteracy
Tuesday 2 March 2021 MathsLiteracy
Wednesday 3 March 2021

Maths | LiteracyPBL

Thursday 4 March 2021 Maths
Friday 5 March 2021 Maths | Literacy
Lesson  
Monday 22 February 2021 Literacy | Maths | PBL
Tuesday 23 February 2021 Literacy | Maths
Wednesday 24 February 2021

LiteracyMaths

Thursday 25 February 2021 LiteracyMaths
Friday 26 February 2021 LiteracyMaths
Lesson  
Monday 8 February 2021 Maths | Literacy
Tuesday 9 February 2021 MathsLiteracy
Wednesday 10 February 2021

MathsLiteracy

Thursday 11 February 2021 MathsLiteracy
Friday 12 February 2021 MathsLiteracy
Lesson  
Monday 1 February 2021 Maths | Literacy
Tuesday 2 February 2021 Maths | Literacy
Wednesday 3 February 2021

MathsLiteracy

Thursday 4 February 2021 Maths | ShapesLiteracy
Friday 5 February 2021 MathsLiteracy | PBL
Lesson  
Monday 25 January 2021 LiteracyMaths
Tuesday 26 January 2021 Literacy | Maths | Making a Jam Sandwich
Wednesday 27 January 2021

Literacy | Maths

Thursday 28 January 2021 LiteracyMaths | Geography
Friday 29 January 2021 LiteracyMaths
Lesson Spanish
Monday 18 January 2021 Literacy |  Maths
Tuesday 19 January 2021 LiteracyMaths
Wednesday 20 January 2021

LiteracyMaths

Thursday 21 January 2021 LiteracyMaths | Geography
Friday 22 January 2021 Maths
  Lesson
Monday 11 January 2021 Literacy | Maths | Spanish Week 2
Tuesday 12 January 2021 LiteracyMaths
Wednesday 13 January 2021

LiteracyMaths

Thursday 14 January 2021 LiteracyMaths | PBL Geography
Friday 15 January 2021 LiteracyMaths
  Lesson
Monday 4 January 2021 Year 1 Maths Video | Home Learning Notes | Spanish Week 1
Tuesday 5 January 2021 Phonics Video | Y1 Literacy | Y1 Science
Wednesday 6 January 2021

Literacy | Literacy Notes

Maths | PBL

Thursday 7 January 2021 Literacy | Maths | Maths Home Learning Notes
Friday 8 January 2021 Literacy | Maths